Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Chicago Art Galleries
Galleries By Style
Galleries A to Z
User Reviews
Visual Arts Articles
View All
Picky Art Picks
Artist Sketches
New In Art
Art Guides
So You Wanna...

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Akainyah Gallery

View Map 357 W. Erie St., Chicago
Tel: (312) 654-0333
Akainyah Gallery Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews
16 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own Akainyah Gallery Review


  • violet woodard says:
    On Thursday 9/12/13 12:59 AM
    I worked with Sam Akainyah years ago while catering to his gallery. Sam and his wife was an absolute pleasure to work for, I was very saddened to here he had suffered a stroke, my heart & prays go out to him & his family for full & speedy recovery. I have a couple of Sam's prints for sale, please email any requests to swoodard60438@gmail.com

  • Regina Heller says:
    On Wednesday 9/21/11 7:40 PM
    We finally did visit Mr. Akainyah at his gallery several months ago, we learned that he suffered a stroke in 2010 but he is recovering well. He has been a friend for many years but even still it is difficult to get in touch with him and difficult pin down when attempting to acquire his work. I wish I had done so when we were all friends in Chicago 30 years ago, struggling students, when Sam's career as an artist was just beginning. I'm afraid I missed a window of opportunity. If you have any of his work for sale please contact me. Thanks. rmheller@ameritech.net

  • Jori Jeffrey says:
    On Friday 4/1/11 11:55 PM
    He is very talented. I,however,think that he is a MUCH better artist than he is a teacher. I took a class with him once and was MISERABLY disappointed. I could go on, but I won't.

  • KD says:
    On Monday 7/19/10 1:01 AM
    Fabulous work! I currently own several AP's (Memorial, Emergence,English Blossoms, Cry Freedom, From Wench we Came)and willing to sell. Interested parites should email me: kjd346@gmail.com.

  • Adrian says:
    On Monday 7/12/10 4:57 PM
    This guy swindled my father out of $1,000. He commissioned Akainyah for one piece, paid the artist and has not received the work, and has not received a reply to his phone calls or other attempts to contact him. I would caution you from giving any moeny to this man before services rendered. BEWARE.

  • Rhandall J Thorpe says:
    On Wednesday 3/31/10 6:13 PM
    A great artist, I own two of his prints.

  • F. ANSAH says:
    On Friday 4/17/09 6:20 AM
    Sammy's gallery - a true memoir. Stay blessed.

  • Jori Jeffrey says:
    On Tuesday 1/27/09 4:18 PM
    havrn't been in a long time.

  • Kwasi Badu-Tweneboah, Ph.D., P.E. says:
    On Saturday 5/5/07 10:13 AM
    Sammy, I can't wait to visit Chicago to come see your Art Gallery. I have heard and read great things about the gallery and your work for the Chicago community. Anyway, it was great talking to you with Ahoya recently. I have been trying to get hold of you but your mail baxo has been full -a testament to how busy you are! Please keep in touch; we have grat palns for you.

    BOSCO

  • Gwendolyn Waring says:
    On Thursday 4/6/06 4:53 PM
    Samuel Akainyah is a remarkable artist. I own a few pieces and have encouraged others to buy his works in Atlanta. His art speaks like poetry. I have been trying to find "Sudden emotion" without luck. His talented is captivating as is he as he expresses the feelings that he reflects on the canvas.

There are more than 10 reviews. View page: 1 [2]

Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL Akainyah Gallery website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix