Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Chicago Restaurants
By Cuisine
By Styles
Restaurants A-Z
Chicago Dining Guides
User Reviews

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

May St. Cafe

View Map 1146 W. Cermak Ave., Chicago
Tel: (312) 421-4442
View Website
May St. Cafe Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews
11 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own May St. Cafe Review


  • Sammy says:
    On Monday 4/30/12 12:23 PM
    Very overpriced place located in a horrible place. Looks like a rathole dive. Very rude service, add on charges

  • Stephen Stillman says:
    On Monday 3/2/09 1:42 PM
    To begin with, May St. Cafe is our favorite restaurant, by a long shot!! We started going there years ago, before Mario & Lupe remodeled and turned it into someplace beautiful. That remodeling transformation was magic. We have introduced this fabulous restaurant to at least 50 or 75 people we know who trust our judgment, and most of them have become regulars.

    The food, to us, is fabulous, beautiful and delicious. The fact that it is BYOB is very important to us since we are wine people and hate feeling ripped off by huge mark ups on restaurant wine lists. Couple those things with the warmth and special attention that they try to show to all of their guests, and to us, there is no better place to eat or to celebrate an occasion.

    We love this place !!

  • Jim Grani says:
    On Sunday 11/16/08 11:56 PM
    Was just there on Saturday night. My wife and I always eat early. Not packed, good vibe and delicious food. Had the steak and the owner Mario brought it out to me before he cooked it. It wasn't cheap but it wasn't over the top either. Hey, I didn't expect it to be that inexpensive. Good time,good food with the wife and it was well worth it.

  • Edith Martinez says:
    On Wednesday 10/22/08 9:19 AM
    My husband and I have been to May St. Cafe several times since it opened. We noticed the prices have gone up and the portion sizes down. I have always had a great experience at May St., but the prices will probably not bring us back. The owner, and executive chef, Mario usually stops by the tables of diners and he did not do that this time. The service was GREAT and we love Liz, but if the prices remain that high, we will probably not return. I'm disappointed that this restaurant that made you feel like family before is now like all of the other trendy Chicago hot spots.

  • Lisa C says:
    On Wednesday 1/2/08 11:22 AM
    Food and service was decent. Accomodations were cramped, but it was the bill that left a bad taste in my mouth. Attended a large party of 13 that was originally reserved to be 17. Order 10 entrees, 6 appetizers, 2 soups, & 2 salads. When bill came we rec'd an unexpected charge of $140. This was not disclosed at the time of reservation or at any time during the meal. We were told that we were charged a minimum of $20 for each person on the reservation who did not order an entree. This includes 4 people who did not show up and three people who at soup, salad & appetizers. It is one thing to charge us a minimal fee for no shows on the reservation, but to charge us because someone decided to eat light, that is ridiculous. Plus all fees should be disclosed up front. They had many opportunities to inform us of the additional fees like when the reservation was made, when we were seated, or when the food was served. This did not happen. Always read your bill carefully!!!

  • Sean McCann says:
    On Saturday 3/31/07 12:29 PM
    Went out for dinner with a friend. We both were very excited to try May St. out. We heard so many good things about the place. After leaving we were both very disappointed. I did not mind the cramped eating area, or the crazy hours that they keep, the waitress being uneducated on the menu, or even the small portions that they give you. What I did mind is the taste of the food. I feel that for the price that you pay for the food and the portion that they give you, you should really expect a BANG when you bite into that food. I am sad to say that the food just did not do that. My date and I both agreed that the food just seem kind of bland. Nothing we had tasted like they said it would in the menu. The chipotle mashed did not taste like chipotle. The Garlic mashed did not taste like garlic the rice was like any rice that you could get at any taco place…nothing special. To top it all off, the salmon that I had was over cooked and fishy smelling; big no no in my book. My date could not eat the food after such a disappointment. So I had to stop and get her something on the way home. I am sorry to say but May St. has become a joke to us now. We ask each other, “Where you want to eat?” one of us will say, “Let’s go to May St!” We will both laugh and then really decide on a restaurant.

  • Silvia says:
    On Thursday 3/1/07 10:15 AM
    It was ok. I ordered the tortilla soup and it was too spicy and thick, the texture was not that of a tortilla soup. It was a little hard to eat in this cafe in Pilsen knowing that the people living in the area can't afford it. This restaurant has a customer in mind and it's not the Pilsen resident. I do have to say way to go to the Latino owners and their accomplishment. Everyone in my party loved the food and service

  • Estela says:
    On Wednesday 1/17/07 4:02 PM
    The food was fantastic! As part of a group of eight, we ordered different entrees, and everything we tasted was great, including their tortilla soup, which was outstanding. It's a bit on the spicy/hot side, but very tasty. Although there is a two hour time limit, and the fact that they need to brush up on their service, the food was great and we will definitely return.

  • arturo hernandez says:
    On Friday 9/29/06 8:06 PM
    the best food in chicago, the quesadillas are the best in the world, the place is great and the owners mario and lupe are the most great people.

  • Shannon Harmon says:
    On Tuesday 6/13/06 12:00 AM
    This is a great place to eat. The food is exceptional. I went with my mom and we were the only ones there at the time. The chef came out and took our order himself. I asked what vegetarian options they had and he went to the kitchen to see what he had in back. He ended up improvising and making me an eggplant portabello mushroom dish with pineapple, mango sauce and balsamic vinegrette. I also highly recommend their butternut squash soup. Such a lovely place with great owners!

There are more than 10 reviews. View page: 1 [2]

Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL May St. Cafe website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix