Centerstage - Chicago's Original City Guide

Virtual L ®

RELATED INFORMATION
Bars & Clubs
By Styles
A to Z
Nightlife Guides
User Reviews

WEEKLY WINNERS

DO IT.
REVIEW IT.
WIN IT.

When you post a review, go ahead and make it great!
You might just win one of many great prizes.

Find Out How

Morgan's Bar and Grill on Maxwell Street

View Map 1325 S. Halsted St., Chicago
Tel: (312) 243-4800
Morgan's Bar and Grill on Maxwell Street Details Find What Else Is Nearby User Reviews
19 Review(s) Total

Post Your Own Morgan's Bar and Grill on Maxwell Street Review


  • Kathy says:
    On Thursday 3/24/11 8:54 AM
    I think this place is great. Has a home-town feel and the staff is very attentive. Paul, the owner made us all feel welcome. The food was good and the bartenders are the best. I recommend this for game-day!

  • Erica says:
    On Tuesday 4/6/10 10:40 PM
    I had been to Morgan's several times in the past and haven't had any problems, but last night's experience was enough to make me never want to go back there. Our server wasn't the greatest-although we got get drinks relatively quickly considering the bar was packed, and our food tasted great, he never once smiled or looked like he was enjoying his life at all. Plus, we ended up waiting 45 minutes to get our bill. After we discovered an issue with the bill, we asked to speak to the manager. She came over to our table and right from the start gave us attitude. As a former bar employee, I was horrifed to witness this complete lack of respect for a customer. No matter what, the customer is always right, and situations should be handled politely and with a big smile on your face. She was rude and made us feel incredibly stupid for bringing this problem to her attention and we basically had to beg her to fix the problem.. which she finally did, 30 minutes later. I was shocked and appalled at her behavior and will never go back to that bar again. If they can't respect customers, then they don't deserve customers.

  • Laurie and Tony Jurkas says:
    On Thursday 10/15/09 9:01 AM
    We can't thank you enough for everything you have done for our family and friends in the last two years. On Oct 10, 2009 we all did the Chicago Suicide Walk because Tony and I lost our 23 year old son Tony Jr. to suicide in 2006. Thanks to Paul, Raj, and Dan we had inpeccable food and service for 30 people. I heard nothing but raves from all our guests. You did't even have to look around for our server, as she was right there asking what she could get for you!! Morgan's gives so much back to their community and we thank you for that!! Keep up the Good Work.

  • kmg says:
    On Monday 6/8/09 9:37 AM
    If you relish in waitresses that are slow to respond; that do not return change and automatically "assume" you wanted them to have any change due as their personal tip--and management staff that is defensive when a complaint is made about service (and non-return of change when bill was paid) then this is your place. It is true that staff is only a reflection of management. the waitress are slow, the food mediocore and defensive when asked "where is my change?" SAD.... for a place that could have some potential to be a great spot--but not with the attitudes and service they provide.

  • efb115 says:
    On Thursday 1/1/09 5:14 PM
    Came to Morgan's based on the editorial review on new years for the rose bowl. But I'm not impressed. Food is nothing to write home about and The draft selections were nothing special. For a sports bar you would think you wouldn't have to ask for the game audio to take presidence over the jukebox, only to have the jukebox come back on before the end of the 1st quarter.

  • UFC 22 says:
    On Saturday 10/4/08 11:56 AM
    The place was awesome. cheap menu. beer was warm! don't order the potato skins!, it was cold! all the tables were reserved, so sit at the bar!. Some of the waitress's were gorgeous, but they were more into themselves than the customers. better service and colder beer would make it from awesome to Xtreme! i give it 3 stars or 3 sporks or 3 lightsabers! how ever bars are rated

  • Chicago Matt says:
    On Wednesday 3/5/08 8:51 PM
    I went to Morgan's on a Monday and the specials were pizzas and domestic pitchers. I do not recall the exact price but I remember that the service was prompt and the food was good and very inexpensive.

  • Shiner says:
    On Thursday 7/26/07 10:50 PM
    Although I have not been there quite yet, I see them in passing while I am at work and they advertise for Shiner Bock beer which happens to come all the down from Texas. And I would only go there for the Food and that Specific beer which by the way is the greatest beer of all time when I visit Texas. Whenever I can get it up here, i will go and get some.

  • Daniel says:
    On Sunday 6/17/07 5:29 PM
    Never again! I had one of the worst ever dining experiences at Morgan's on Maxwell. I ordered the Salmon lunch special, as it was recommended to me by my server, and I waited close to thirty minutes for my meal. The server came once to check on me, and walked away briskly without offering me a refil on my lemonade. When my meal finally came out, I told my waitress that I was in a hurry and that I wanted my meal boxed up to go. She came back with a box, and forgot my check. I waited another 10 minutes for her to resurface, and so I started to eat my meal. The salmon was overly seasoned, and in the middle it was still frozen. After looking at my tab I was absolutely amazed that Morgan's could even be so bold to charge $17 dollars for a small salmon, a handful of tasteless steamed vegetables. So I ended up leaving the meal behind, throwing down $20 for the tab, and walking out extremely unsatisfied. Below average service, horrible food..... I won't be going back again.

  • Tammee says:
    On Monday 5/28/07 3:53 PM
    I too have frequented Morgan's multiple times and the service is horrible! I keep trying them hoping it will get better, but it seems to be getting worse. Today, it took us over 20 minutes to get our appetizer and then another 30 minutes to get our meals.....and they weren't even busy! My boyfriend's food was hot and fresh and mine was cold as if it had been sitting around. Overall, the food is good, but I don't think I will be heading back there anytime soon.

There are more than 10 reviews. View page: 1 [2]

Post Your Own Review!

NOTICE: This is NOT the OFFICIAL Morgan's Bar and Grill on Maxwell Street website. These reviews are a forum for opinions about the venue that other Centerstage Chicago users may want to know, not to order merchandise, apply for a job, etc.

Name
Email
We Reward Good Behavior. If you want to win our weekly review contest, better use your real E-mail. We promise it is SAFE + SPAM-FREE.
Your Review

If you're not sure whether you should post, or trust us with your email address, please read Centerstage's brief posting guide or our privacy policy.


Please confirm the code above


chicago, metromix